sea salt + nutella cookies

My parents came to visit me this weekend. We did a campy ghost tour on Friday night aboard the “Trolley of the Doomed,” and I convinced them to take me out to local fancy restaurants that I wouldn’t have otherwise experienced. I ate lots of seafood and drank many a mojito (and the occasional mint julep—it just seemed too apropos to resist).

They stayed at an inn near the river, so we spent more time on River St. than I would have liked. The cobblestone strip is always full of drunk tourists moseying along wearing clothes that are two sizes too small. The weather was lovely, though, so any excuse to be outside was just fine.

Image

Today it’s dreary. Here’s a list of things to do on a dreary Sunday such as this:

1.) Drink lots of wine alone

1.) Drink some cocktails with friends (or your cat)

2.) Clean! Or, do what I do and half-assedly run some Clorox wipes over 1/3 of the surfaces in your home, then push some stuff under the bed

3.) Get some homework done

3.) Get some work Make a to-do list

4.) Bake cookies!

I found the recipe for these nutella and sea salt cookies on this adorable blog. It’s fantastically easy and requires only five ingredients.

Image

Here’s what you’ll need:

• 1 c nutella (or, like, basically one of those normal-sized containers)
• 2 tbsp. brown sugar
• 1 egg
• 1/2 c flour
• coarse sea salt to top
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Mix all of these ingredients together, minus the sea salt. An electric mixer works best, but since I don’t have one, I mixed the batter by hand. This is totally possible, but requires a little more (wo)manpower. After the ingredients are combined, stick the bowl in the fridge for 10 minutes (or maybe longer, actually, like 15. I didn’t feel like 10 was quite enough). When I pulled out the batter, it was kind of wet and crumbly. I really don’t know why. But, it’s cool.
Roll the stuff into balls and bake for about 10 more minutes (size-wise, I aimed for a little smaller than a golf ball). Pull ’em out, sprinkle liberally with salt (this is key—it gives the cookie its appeal by adding a nice contrast to the rich, chocolate flavor), and let them cool a bit.
The cookies weren’t as aesthetically pleasing as I’d hoped, but they still tasted like sweet little fairy turds. Bon appetit!
Image
Image
Leave a Reply

